Original versus Adapted Screenplay… the topic of my Bachelor Thesis

I spent most of the 7 months writing my Bachelor Thesis in front of the computer. I just found my Bachelor Thesis on my University’ s Homepage and wanted to give you the opportunity to download it for free. The thesis is on the topic of Adapted versus Original Screenplay. I raise questions like: “what promises to be a financially succesful and critically acclaimed film? A film based on an original screenplay or one based on an Adapted Screenplay?”

As a practical example, I revise the adaptation of the 7th and last Harry Potter Book, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” by J.K. Rowling. I also address the decision of the writer and producers to split the 7th Harry Potter Book into two films.

Image: © Warner Bros.

abstract:

“In this paper I survey the 250 most successful films of all times and find out that the majority of them are not based on an original screenplay, on the contrary: Over 50 per cent of those films are either based on an adapted screenplay or on previously created characters. Sequels, prequels, spin-offs and the like are a sign of Hollywood’s fear to produce films based on a story that is unknown. There are a lot of signs pointing towards the fact that most of the succesful films are based on elements of myths, sagas, fairy tales and archetypes. This seems to be one of the reasons why Fantasy films are so successful.”

I would like to thank my tutors, Dr. Peter Gottschalk and Dr. Ruth Halter.

I wish to give everyone interested in storytelling, writing screenplays and especially fantasy films an opportunity to read my thesis. I spent a lot of time looking through old books about myths, studying Freud and Campbell and Zacharia Sitchin. My interest in the topic of fantasy worlds, especially for film, has grown since I researched my thesis.

Here is the link to my BA Thesis:

http://hsmw.bsz-bw.de/frontdoor/index/index/docId/2339

Leave a Reply

